Seminars

A World Without Hamlet

Convenors:

Eleine Ng, De Montfort University (UK), eleineng@gmail.com
Varsha Panjwani, NYU London (UK), vp46@nyu.edu
Anne Sophie Refskou, University of Surrey (UK), annesophie.refskou@gmail.com

Cultural Mobility Around Shakespeare’s Rome: Mapping Race, Ethnicity, and Nation through Performance

Convenors:

Shaul Bassi, Ca’Foscari University of Venice (IT), bassi@unive.it
Christy Desmet, University of Georgia (USA), cdesmet@uga.edu
Nora Galland, Université Paul Valéry Montpellier III (FR), nora.galland@hotmail.fr
Sujata Iyengar, University of Georgia (USA), iyengar@uga.edu

Explorations and Geographies of the Self: Microcosmic and Macrocosmic Shakespeare

Convenors:

Sophie Chiari, Universite Clermont Auvergne (FR), sophie.chiari@orange.fr
Janet Elizabeth Clare, University of Hull (UK), j.clare@hull.ac.uk

Forms and Geographies of Physical and Intellectual Non-Normativity in Shakespeare and his Contemporaries

Convenors:

Luca Baratta, University of Florence (IT), lucabaratta85@gmail.com
Alice Equestri, University of Sussex (UK), ali.equestri@gmail.com

“Here is my (cyber) Space”: Experiencing Shakespeare in a Digital Environment

Convenors:

Maddalena Pennacchia, Roma Tre University (IT), maddalena.pennacchia@uniroma3.it
Alessandra Squeo, University of Bari “Aldo Moro” (IT), alessandra.squeo@uniba.it
Reto Winckler, Chinese University of Hong Kong (HK), retowinckler@gmail.com

‘Here is my space’: Geographies of the Self in Antony and Cleopatra

Convenors:

Silvia Bigliazzi, University of Verona (IT), silvia.bigliazzi@univr.it;
Elena Marie Pellone, Shakespeare Institute, University of Birmingham (UK), lenavision@live.com
David Jonathan Schalkwyk, Queen Mary University of London (UK), dschalkwyk1@gmail.com

Of Seas and Oceans, of Storms and Wreckage, of Water Battles and Love in Shakespeare’s Plays

Convenors:

Dana Monah, University of Iasi (RO), danamonah@yahoo.fr
Estelle Rivier-Arnaud, Le Mans University (FR), estelle.rivier@free.fr

Performing Gender(s) Elsewhere: Shakespeare in Contemporary Alternative Spaces and Institutions

Convenors:

Francesca Rayner, Universidade do Minho (PT), frayner@ilch.uminho.pt
Kirilka Stavreva, Cornell College (USA), kstavreva@cornellcollege.edu

Remapping Gender in Shakespeare’s Europe

Convenors:

David J. Amelang, Freie Universität Berlin (DE), david.amelang@fu-berlin.de
Carla Della Gatta, University of Southern California (USA), dellagat@usc.edu

Remappings and New Centerings of Shakespeare on the Opera-Musical and Ballet-Dance Stages

Convenors:

Alina Bottez, Universityh of Bucharest (RO), alinabottez@gmail.com;
Adeline Chevrier-Bosseau, Université Blaise-Pascal, F- Clermont-Ferrand (FR), achevrier.bosseau@gmail.com
Nancy Isenberg, Roma Tre University (IT), nancyisenberg@gmail.com

Shakespeare and Central/Eastern Europe: Then and Now

Convenors:

Michelle Assay, Université Paris Sorbonne (FR), University of Huddersfield (UK), michelleassay@gmail.com
David Fanning, University of Manchester (UK), david.fanning@manchester.ac.uk
Anthony Guneratne, Florida Atlantic University (USA), gnrtn4@yahoo.com
Aleksei Semenenko, University of Stockholm (SE), aleksei.semenenko@gmail.com

Shakespeare and religious dislocations: texts, iconography, performance

Convenors:

Maria Luisa De Rinaldis, University of Salento (IT) marialuisa.derinaldis@unisalento.it
Paul  J.M.C. Franssen, Utrecht University (NL), P.J.C.M.Franssen@uu.nl

Shakespeare on the Intercultural Edge: Adaptation, Translation, Acculturation and Hybrid Strategies

Convenors:

Monica Alcantar, University of Bergamo (IT), monicajenny.alcanta2@unibo.it
Mika Eglinton, Kobe City University of Foreign Studies (JP), meglinton@inst.kobe-cufs.ac.jp

Shakespeare: A Workshop and a Seminar on Boundary-Crossing Issues

Convenors:

Sergio Costola, Southwestern University (USA), costolas@southwestern.edu
Michael Saenger, Southwestern University (USA), saengerm@southwestern.edu

Shakespeare’s Romantic European Outskirts

Convenors:

Natalia Brzozowska, IRCL – University of Montpellier 3 (FR), nbrzoz@gmail.com
Jacek Fabiszak, Adam Mickiewicz University (PL), fabiszak@amu.edu.pl

Shakespearean Geographies on Screen

Convenors:

Victoria Bladen, University of Queensland (AU), victoria.bladen@uqconnect.edu.au
Melissa Croteau, California Baptist University (USA), melissacroteau@hotmail.com
Márta Minier, University of South Wales (UK), marta.minier@southwales.ac.uk

Shakespearean Migrations

Convenors:

Keith Gregor Graham, University of Murcia, (ES); gregork@um.es
Jasmine Seymour, Queen Mary University (UK), asassociation400@gmail.com

“Something Rich and Strange”: Remapping Shakespeare’s Utopia

Convenors:

Delilah Bermudez Brataas, Norwegian University of Science and Technology (NO), delilah.brataas@ntnu.no
Anna Kowalcze-Pawlik, Tischner European University (PL), kowalcze.pawlik@gmail.com

The Conceptualization and Treatment of the Foreigner in Shakespeare’s Work: the Impact of Cultural, Socio-Economic and Gender Factors

Convenors:

Camilla Caporicci, University of Padova (IT), camilla.caporicci@gmail.com
Armelle Sabatier, Panthéon-Assas University, Paris (FR), arm.saba@free.fr

The Geopolitics of Shakespeare European Adverts

Convenors:

Maria Elisa Montironi, University of Urbino (IT), maria.montironi@uniurb.it
Stephen O’Neill, Maynooth University (IE), stephen.oneill@mu.ie
Cristina Paravano, University of Milano (IT), cristina.paravano@unimi.it

 

Important Dates

Submissions
Now open

Seminar & Panel Proposal deadline
June, 18th 2018

Proposal acceptance notification
July, 15th 2018

Call for Papers opening
July, 20th 2018

Early Bird Fee Opening
October, 2018

Call for Papers Deadline
December, 15th 2018

Call for Papers Acceptance Notification
January, 15th 2019

Early Bird Fee Expiration
March, 15th 2019